top of page

About ISC

ISC is a registered 501c(3) non-profit organization recognized by the Internal Revenue Service and duly incorporated in the state of California.  It was formerly organized with an NSF I/UCRC planning grant among three UC campuses (UCI, UCLA and UCSD; participating faculty) to leverage the strengths of industry, academia and government for advancing Semantic Computing technologies. In 2017, Robotic Intelligence is added as an additional theme.


Phillip Sheu, University of California, Irvine, USA 

Joseph Barr, Auritas, USA (Meetings and Events)

Science Advisory Board

Jake Aggarwal, The University of Texas, Austin
Ruzena Bajcsy, University of California, Berkeley
Shih-Fu Chang, Columbia University
Robert Dittmar, The University of Michigan
Shlomo Dubnov, University of California, San Diego (former I/UCRC co-director)

Bernd Girod, Stanford University
Arif Ghafoor, Purdue University
Ed Hovy, CMU

Jay Kuo, USC
Stephen Levinson, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Martha Palmer, University of Colorado, Boulder
Mihaela van der Schaar, University of California, Los Angeles (former I/UCRC co-director)
Jaideep Shrivastava, University of Minnesota

Technology Advisory Board

Michael Bennett, EDM Council
Anmol Bhasin, LinkedIn
Dick Bulterman, FXPAL
David Evans, Evans LLC
Peter Haug, Intermountain Healthcare

Atsushi Kitazawa, NEC Solutions Innovator

Chung-Sheng Li, PwC
Ching-Yung Lin, IBM TJ Watson
Jim Miller, Del Rey Systems
Abha Moitra, GE Global Research
David Newman, Wells Fargo
David Ostrowski, Ford Research and Advanced Engineering

Luigi Paraboschi, Expert System
Raymond Paul, Department of Defense

Pete Rivett, Adaptive
Behzad Shahraray, AT&T
Steven Simske, HP Labs
Joakim Soderberg, Samsung Information Systems America
Richard Soley, OMG
Ram Sriram, NIST

Vishy Swaminathan, Adobe Systems, USA
Tanveer Syeda-Mahmood, IBM Almaden

Doug Tolbert, Unisys
Deepak S. Turaga, IBM TJ Watson

Dennis E. Wisnosky, formerly Chief Architect/CTO of DoD

International Advisory Board

Kiyoharu Aizawa, University of Tokyo, Japan
Liang-Gee Chen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
W.T. Chen, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Salvatore Gaglio, University of Palermo, Italy
Koiti Hasida, University of Tokyo, Japan
Wen-Lian Hsu, Academia Sinica, Taiwan
Tiejun Huang, Peking University, China
Eero Hyvonen, Helsinki University of Technology, Finland
Mitsuru Ishizuka, University of Tokyo, Japan

Atsushi Kitazawa, NEC Solution Innovators, Japan
Sang-goo Lee, Seoul National University, Korea
Max Muhlhauser, Darmstadt University of Technology, Germany
Adrian Paschke, FU-Berlin, Germany
Ilja Radusch, TU-Berlin, Germany
Jeffrey Tsai, Asia University, Taiwan
Shigeo Tsujii, Chuo University, Japan
Hiroshi Yamaguchi, Chuo University, Japan
Roger Zimmermann, National University of Singapore

International Planning Committee
Homer Chen, National Taiwan University, Taiwan
Daniela D'Auria, University of Naples Federico II, Italy

Alexiei Dingli, University of Malta, Malta

Gary Glesener, Virginia Tech, USA

Julienne Greer, University of Texas at Arlington, USA

Wolfgang Huerst, Utrecht University, The Netherlands
Mohan S. Kankanhalli, National University of Singapore, Singapore
Wooju Kim, Yonsei University, Korea

Eren Kurshan, Columbia University, USA
Robert Mertens, HSW University of Applied Sciences, Hamelin, Germany

Fabio Persia, University of L'Aquila, Italy
Beatrice Pesquet, Telecom Paris Tech, France
Giovanni Pilato, Italian National Research Council, Italy
Ansgar Scherp, Leibniz Information Center for Economics, Kiel University, Kiel, Germany
Atsuo Yoshitaka, JAIST, Japan

bottom of page